REAP operates under a Board of Directors and has standing Committees and Task Forces that oversee the execution of the annual work plan.

Executive Committee

Chair: Mayor Shelley Hansel, Wellington

The Executive Committee assists the Chair in developing agenda items, policy issues, or administrative matters presented to the Board of Directors, handling special tasks and assignments as determined by the Board of Directors and Chair. The Executive Committee has the authority to act on behalf of the Board of Directors on items requiring action between regular meetings of the Board. Additionally, the Committee monitors adherence to the fiscal procedures of REAP.

Legislative Committee

Chair: City Manager Bob Myers, Newton

The Legislative Committee identifies and monitors legislative issues of regional concern and recommends to the Board legislative action at the state or federal level. The Committee organizes the annual Legislative Policy Summit held in December.

Water Resources Committee

Chair: Mayor Marcey Gregory, City of Goddard

The Water Resources Committee identifies and coordinates collaborative efforts on regional issues of water quality and supply in South Central Kansas. The Committee organizes the annual Water Conference held in May.

Technical Advisory Committee

Chair: City Manager Kathy Sexton, Derby

The Technical Advisory Committee consists of the professional administrative and management staff of the local jurisdictions, such as City/County Managers, Administrators, and Clerks. The Committee advises the Board of Directors and Executive Committee on issues of policy, procedure, annual work plan outcomes.

Transportation Task Force

Chair: Commissioner Dave Unruh, Sedgwick County

The Transportation Task Force develops and coordinates transportation systems, resources, and funding opportunities with the Wichita Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (WAMPO) and surrounding communities. The Task Force provides analysis of current transportation issues in coordination with local, regional, and state transportation planning processes. For more information on WAMPO, please visit

Chief Elected Officials Board

Appointment: Mayor Jeff Longwell, City of Wichita

Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 (Public Law 113-128) (WIOA) is the federal employment and training legislation.  WIOA is designed to help job seekers access quality services related to employment, education and training, and supportive services to succeed and to match employers with a skilled workforce they need to compete in the global economy.  The counties of Butler, Cowley, Harper, Kingman, Sedgwick and Sumner counties have been designated as the Kansas WIOA Local Area IV by the Governor of the State of Kansas.  The Workforce Alliance of South Central Kansas (WA) serves as the Local Workforce Development Board (LWDB), operates the workforce centers in the region and manages the employment and training programs.

WIOA requires local governments to establish a Chief Elected Officials Board (CEOB) to oversee the operations of a local area.  The CEOB functions as Grant Recipient for funds under WIOA Title I Adult, Dislocated Worker and Youth Programs for Local Area IV, and appoints members to the Local Workforce Development Board. Approximately $3 million is allocated annually to Local Area IV.  This funding is critical to serve both employers and job seekers in South Central Kansas.  For more information: